Our Programs
About Us

Our mission is to invest in education in Loudon County
by enriching lifelong learning, encouraging professional development
and emphasizing business and community participation.

    You may ask yourself, 
“What is the Loudon County Education Foundation? 
And, what do they do?” 
​    Currently, the Education Foundation offers scholarships to students, and classroom grants to teachers, conducts the annual Young Achievers Award Ceremony, holds an annual essay contest for grades 3 – 8 and facilitates funding for both the City and County school systems. Leadership Loudon County is also a part of the excellent package of programs offered by the Education Foundation.

​The Education Foundation is an important resource for our community. Total Contributions to the Educational System in Lenoir City and Loudon County since 2011:  
2012 - $ 62,316.
2013 - $100,025.
2014 - $114,000.
2015 - $ 86,225.
2016 - $ 89,416.
2017 - $95,543
Total $547,525.00

According to Foundation historian and local attorney Harvey Sproul, the Foundation was created in answer to community need in 1998.  “For many years, the Loudon County Chamber of Commerce listed education as a priority in this community.  Businesses expressed the need for an educated workforce, and residents recognized the role of education in maintaining and growing a successful community.  It was in direct response to this need that the Chamber created the Education Foundation to offer support to the educational system in Loudon County,” said Sproul.  

​Board members Director of Loudon County Schools Dr. Jason Vance and Director of Lenoir City Schools  Dr. Jeanne Barker see the value in the support that the Foundation provides to students and teachers in all school districts.  

2018 Board of Directors

Rasmus Dyhr, Chairman
Joanna Richardson, Chairman Elect
Dawn Millican, Treasurer
John Evans, Secretary
Sandra Day, Past Chair
Jason Vance, Director of Loudon County Schools
Jeanne Barker, Director of Lenoir City Schools

Paul Boyles
George Bove
Judy Buscetta
Beverley Gourley
Lisa Grugin
Melanie Harris
Lisa Harvey
Julia Hurley
Dana Jarrett
Jim Lang
Scott Mackintosh
Dawn Millican
Susan Williams

Lifetime Members
​Wayne Miller
Harvey Sproul

Ex Officio 
LaVonne Barbour, Representing Mayor Tony Aikens
Mayor Buddy Bradshaw
Mayor Jim Greenway
Clayton Pangle

Michele Lewis, Executive Director
Linda Keck, Administrative Assistant
 For more information, or to contribute to the 
Loudon County Education Foundation, 
contact Executive Director Michele Lewis at 865-458-8749.